Saint Augustine’s University

Saint Augustine’s University was chartered as Saint Augustine Normal School and Collegiate Institute on July 19, 1867, by the Reverend J. Brinton Smith, D.D., secretary of the Freedman’s Commission of the Protestant Episcopal Church, and the Right Reverend Thomas Atkinson, D.D., Bishop of the Diocese of North Carolina. Bishop Atkinson became the first president of the Board of Trustees and Dr. Smith was the first principal. The new school opened its doors for instruction on January 13, 1868.

Available Programs

  • Psychology
  • Sociology
  • Political Sciences
  • Department of Media Communications, Visual & Performing Arts
  • Communications
  • Visual Arts
  • Theatre
  • Music
  • Film

Saint Augustine’s University Locations

  • Raleigh, NC